top of page

Urine, Yumm!

So you know I love to tell funny stories.


I think that laughing at yourself is one of the greatest ways to fight depression and stop focusing on the serious things in life, but instead, life’s little bits of entertainment.

My husband has claimed our finished basement as his “man cave”. There are mounted deer heads on the walls, video game paraphernalia, guns displayed, and a clear lack of organization. There are things that happen in the basement that I just can’t control and I have essentially relinquished my rights to the state of this space. I get the rest of the house, but he get’s this.


So sometimes when my husband is in the middle of playing video games and doesn’t want to go all the way upstairs to use the restroom, he’ll pee in a spare water bottle or something to hold him over – it’s his domain so it’s “his rules”.


Well one day he was away for the evening and I was drinking some wine and watching a movie in the basement. I realized that I had consumed more than half of the bottle and came to the conclusion that I should probably start hydrating to avoid getting a hangover the next day. So lucky for me there was a bottle of Powerade within reach and it was my favorite flavor, lemon-lime! I started chugging it down quickly because I felt like I was already behind – I usually try to drink the suggested 2 glasses of water per alcoholic drink in tandem with the alcohol. After a few big gulps I noticed that it tasted stale or something, so I stopped.


It took a few minutes and then the idea hit me of what the stale taste could have been…

I immediately called my husband to ask him if he urinated in a Powerade bottle the night before – and he confirmed. I was obviously TOTALLY grossed out! Eww! Ick! Yuck! Bleh!

I called my best friend to bitch and tell her this horrible story.


After calming down slightly I came to two conclusions:

  1. If I’m ever stranded in the wilderness without water and am forced to drink my own pee, I will be ok.

  2. I need to buy some kind of designated jug for the basement to ensure that something like this never happens again. [✓]

0049000047120_CF_version_type_large

Yeah..

True story.

bottom of page