top of page

The Jet Ski

So when I was about 10 my great uncle came in to visit. He always came in around Independence Day and brought his friend Jon. My mother told me and my sister that Jon was his best friend and that’s why he always came along. Of course, when I got older I found out that my uncle was gay and that Jon was his partner. I won’t get into my thoughts on keeping that a secret, but let’s just say that’s not how I would have handled.


Anyway…



When they came to visit we were at my grandparents house on that lake, as usual, and us kids really wanted to ride on the jet ski! Of course, we weren’t old enough to drive by ourselves, so an adult had to take us. We had been on the lake our whole little lives, so we knew how to drive, we just needed an adult to accompany us and sit on the back. 

Apparently I must have looked very cute and convincing because Jon offered to opt out of the relaxing pontoon boat ride with the other adults and take me out on the jet ski. I assured him that I knew what I was doing and that he didn’t need any experience – he was just there to enjoy the ride.


Well, I must have had a trusting nature back then because Jon seemed to feel fairly confident in my abilities. We pulled out after the pontoon boat undocked and were off! I was a fearless child and always looking for the next thrill. This certainly was apparent in my driving skills. After driving for a few minutes, I took a turn too fast and tight, resulting in the jet ski tipping over. Anyone who has experience riding jet skis knows that falling off or tipping over is actually kind of common. I had never been the one to tip it back over though; I always had an experienced adult with me. So I wasn’t sure what to do.


I wasn’t panicked though, I was laughing. I turned to Jon and realized that he was not reacting in the same way. He was horrified! He also had asthma and was having a very hard time breathing! Now I say this in the most loving, non-discriminatory way.. but imagine a large, fairly eccentric man essentially having a panic attack in a life jacket in a lake? It’s kind of funny…


I felt horrible but in that moment I couldn’t help but laugh. I tried to tell Jon that it was SUPER easy to flip back over but every attempt that he made was failed.


Eventually a group of young guys saw us from their lake-side house, paddled out on a canoe and flipped the jet ski over for us – being sure to show us the proper way to do it.

It took several attempts for Jon to get onto the upright machine, as he was still shaking and having difficulty breathing. He pleaded with me to go very slow and get us back to the house safely.


As I headed in that direction I saw my family on their pontoon boat and wanted to drive over to say hello. As we got closer Jon began to barter to see if someone would switch places with him. My uncle agreed to take his place – so I swung the jet ski around to get it close enough to the boat for the exchange to happen. As I turned and Jon leaned with eagerness, it flipped once again!


Without a second thought Jon swam for the boat as I sat there giggling and calm. I flipped the jet ski over on my own, got back on, and helped my uncle board. As we drove away I could see Jon still trying to calm from his panic. I didn’t quite understand why he was so worked up – but I do remember my great uncle comforting him and thinking “what a good friend!”


There’s so much innocence and obliviousness in young minds… it’s refreshing.

bottom of page