top of page

The Boredom Solution

There’s something interesting about boredom, don’t you think?

For children, I can understand the challenge because it is normal to desire constant entertainment; however, as adults you would think that times without activity would be cherished and considered relaxing. As you get older you will hear people talk about how they have no plans for the weekend and are SO excited. Do you think those people get bored when they actually get in those situations?

“Take my advice and make time for yourself to pause even if it doesn’t always feel natural. “

I feel like I always have good intentions on relaxing during “down” periods but that never actually happens. As soon as things get slow I get anxious and want to fill my time with something productive…

Am I the only one?

When you’re on a plane for 4 hours, do you find that relaxing? I find it terribly boring. I’m a busy person and I’m constantly exhausted but calm; unfilled time like that is not attractive to me. In fact, there aren’t very many relaxing things that ARE attractive to me.

I love naps, they’re very peaceful to me. Especially when I can cuddle up with my husband or dog. I also can handle any kind of pampering: nails, hair, massage, facial; without a sense of boredom taking place. Other than that though, I’m at a loss.

So how can you learn to find peace in the “gaps” of life?


Here are a few tips:

  1. Don’t watch the clock, keep focused in the moment

  2. Focus on your breathing. Meditate. Get out of your own head

  3. What’s been on your mind? Use this time to work through those complex emotions and situations. You’ll feel a sense of relief afterward

  4. Self-reflect! There’s always a need to look critically at ourselves and identify ways to improve

  5. Avoid busy work. You don’t get a break often so take advantage of the opportunity

  6. Put down your phone. Engage in REAL life

Although I can recognize the importance of downtime, I’d rather deal with stress by filling my time with fun activities. I want to get the most living out of my life and I feel regret when I pass up an opportunity to enjoy myself or make a good memory.

Living life this way is exhausting, so take my advice and make time for yourself to pause even if it doesn’t always feel natural.

bottom of page