top of page

When I think about the things that I’m most proud of, I can’t help but feel blessed. It’s not often that I think about this (although maybe it should be more), but when I do, I’m reminded of the list of things that give me confidence.

  1. I came from a closed-minded, conservative town and have been able to find a love for culture, diversity, and even certain liberal points of view.

  2. I have been through heartbreak and have emerged on the other side stronger, without blame or ill feelings.

  3. I have been betrayed and lost relationships but have always been the bigger person and maintained common respect.

  4. I took a small opportunity and willed it into a full blown career plan. I used my resources and connections to put myself ahead and have kept that motivation and fire burning.

  5. I learned honesty and patience which allowed my relationship with my husband to flourish and bring us into the beautiful marriage that we have.

  6. I have matured my thinking and habits to go from fiscally irresponsible to planful, conservative and forward-thinking.

  7. I have been depressed, anxious, and broken but have focused my attention on mentally healthy habits, open communication and acceptance.

  8. I took my unclear desire for spiritual growth and found a way to feel fulfilled and close to God.

My husband told me the other day that when asked the question of what he is most proud of in his life, he said his wife. I immediately got choked up. I can think of a million things that he should be proud of, not that I can’t be one, but he is very accomplished. It made me feel so loved and appreciated. I know that pride is a subjective thing, but for someone to think that I am their greatest accomplishment, reason to be proud; well that’s just overwhelming.

These are the moments that I hope I can remember when I’m old.

bottom of page