top of page

I Know You

We make judgments from our view and our view only. In the moment we generally don’t run through all of the possibilities of why someone would do what they do, we just see it and judge it. Being open-minded can help us to cut down on unfair judgments but it still doesn’t make it easy or accurate.

Knowing people doesn’t make you immune to opinions; it just makes it more difficult to avoid feeling personally tied to everyone’s journey. It also give you a false sense of entitlement. You feel like you know someone well enough to weigh in.

No matter how many people you know or how intimately you know them, there’s always going to be details that you don’t know that are key to the way they operate. Sometimes I can convince myself that I know quite a few people deeply enough that I can understand their choices; however, that’s naive. I might know you, but I still don’t know you enough to judge. No one does.

I know you.

I know you are fragile, I know you aren’t like the rest of us. You are combative because you have worked so hard to be what you are and it is so hard for you to tolerate the lack of discipline in others. Your discipline has stunted you because you focused too hard in one area and now the rest seems daunting. I understand you enough to write this but I don’t feel like I understand you as well as I do others.

I know you.

I know you feel helpless. I know that you want your perspective to change but it’s stuck. You were hardwired to make simple things complex. On top of your hard-wiring you were conditioned in a way that makes everything serious. I feel like I know you so well but I don’t know what to do with this knowledge. The nurturing female in me weeps for you.

I know you.

I know you are waiting for karma to come back your way. You want to live life for yourself but you can’t. You wish that someone would give you a break and allow you to appreciate life. You are selfless which makes you too much of an asset for anyone to go without. You will never get what you want unless you take it.

I know you.

I know you want everything that life has to offer because it feels like life gave you nothing for a long time. Deep down you are weak but you overcome this by surrounding yourself with motivation. You are so set on proving a point that you haven’t taken the time to evaluate whether your life is bringing you genuine happiness or buying you time. I envy you.

I know you.

I know you want to be the best and are willing to do anything to get there. You don’t genuinely care about others but you expect a lot from them. You act like you have a plan but in secret you are clueless. You don’t know love, you know loyalty. I know you and sometimes I wish I didn’t.

I know you.

I know you have regrets. You refuse to let others make similar mistakes. You can be “warm and fuzzy” if the right people are watching but you cut through most people like a frigid wind. You care more about opinions than feelings. I don’t understand you and my goal is to be nothing like you.

I know you.

I know you just want to feel connected. You are willing to forgive but want to understand. It’s ironic how much you care about honesty. You don’t know what makes you happy, so you’re always looking in different places. I probably understand you the least.

You think you know someone.. and then.. you don’t.

You think you know yourself.. and then.. you don’t.

bottom of page