top of page

Giving a Shit About Shit

Bad timing is like my middle name. I’m clumsy and awkward sometimes – but aren’t we all? I get car-sick while driving (never heard of that before), I find every lip in the sidewalk to trip on, I get sick right before vacation, my coupons are always expired by like ONE day, and I have to use the restroom when I’m in BFE.

Example:

When I was in high school I would frequently run with the cross country team. One of my good friends was on the team but I was just there for the workout. Her and I would always go off on our own and use the peaceful time running on the back country roads to catch up. Well one day we were about 2 or 3 miles into our run, on a road with mostly farmland and I abruptly decided that I needed to go to the restroom. Well we were NOWHERE near a bathroom and the only house was off in the distance. So I ran, cheeks clenched, for this farm house. There was a very old couple outside tending to their yard and we had to muster up the courage to ask the awkward question:

“Hi. So sorry to bother you but we’re out on a long run and I need to use the restroom. Do you mind if I use yours?”

It wasn’t just awkward but also a little scary. We’d watched Texas Chainsaw Massacre one too many times and weren’t too fond of the idea of telling someone we were miles from home, all alone, and wanted to go inside their house.

Well they agreed to let us in. My poor friend had to stand in their house and make conversation with them for the lengthy amount of time that I needed in the bathroom. I could hear the unnatural silences during their conversation and felt so guilty.

Lucky for me eventually I came out, was able to leave and didn’t get shoved down any kind of torturous secret shoot. Also lucky for me, my friend stuck by me and didn’t make the story too hard to live down.

So bad timing will always find me. But is it really “bad”? I am a true believer in “everything happens for a reason” and “trust God’s timing”. Are there forces in play? Plans in progress that I just can’t see because I’m too close? I know that God/ Karma/ the balance of the universe probably doesn’t give a shit about when and where I take a shit (punny- I know). BUT maybe someday someone will come to my door with a random request and instead of turning away, my experience will cause me to think twice. Maybe it won’t be something so minor; maybe I’ll really be able to help someone. I guess I’ll just have to wait and see.

bottom of page