top of page

Ebbs & Flows

Life ebbs and flows. You can always count on bad news after good news. It’s not that life is unfair; it’s simply the world’s way of humbling us all. Not everyone has a consistent flow. Sometimes it takes years of bad before the good comes – but when it does just know that it will be well worth the wait.

You can’t connect the dots looking forward; you can only connect them looking backwards. So you have to trust that the dots will somehow connect in your future. You have to trust in something – your gut, destiny, life, karma, whatever. This approach has never let me down, and it has made all the difference in my life. -Steve Jobs

I won’t act like my life has ever been “bad”, that would be a blatant lie. What I have experienced is more like a rediscovery. I spent very important years of my life not branching out and experiencing the things that I truly desired. I was quiet when my opinion went against the grain of others; I wasn’t as friendly or social as I wanted to be to avoid misinterpretation from others. I wasn’t honest with myself and I wasn’t honest with others because the truth would cause change and that was scary.


The rediscovery began when I got an amazing job opportunity. During college my employer recognized my worth and recommended me to work at corporate in an internship-type capacity. It was out of the blue and I felt truly blessed. In parallel to the amazing opportunity, a long-term relationship came to an abrupt end. (Ebbs and flows , remember?) This new job gave me confidence; it surrounded me with smart people who had great personal and professional advice. I kept myself busy and allowed myself to flourish professionally and didn’t spend any time mourning my personal woes.


With my confidence at an all-time high and my resume getting more impressive by the day, I felt invincible. Depression was there but it was manageable.


Without realizing where it came from, the confidence that I’d recently gained started to benefit my personal life as well. I saw a cute, sweet guy and pursued him. There’s nothing bad to say about this choice – that man is now my husband. Keeping in mind those ebbs and flows though, with the conception of this relationship came the end to my internship. Although my time was up, it was very clear that I would be brought back in a full time capacity as soon as a spot opened up. So now I had this amazing personal life and the professional was requiring a lot more patience.


Even with everything that happened, my confidence was still high and my depression was still manageable. So what did I do? I quit taking my depression medicine. Cold turkey.

bottom of page