top of page

Coffee-ish

None of us are perfect. Would you want to be? I know that in moments where our flaws are exposed we wish that they were gone but let’s be honest, they make life interesting. One of the most important things that I’ve learned in life is the ability to laugh at myself. This is all too important for someone like me who is clumsy and clueless on a frequent basis.

Go ahead laugh – it’s great for the soul (and for the abs – ha!)

Not too long ago I was a coffee virgin. I never drank it because the few sips that I’d attempted were horrible! Well working in a corporate environment I was surrounded by coffee addicts. Not only were there coffee stations everywhere but coffee breaks were the only breaks that seemed to NOT be looked down upon. One day I gave in to peer pressure and decided I’d give the stuff another shot. I looked at the machines in the coffee bar dumbfounded. I looked for something familiar and eventually found a button that said “French Vanilla” – seemed safe. I filled my cup with French Vanilla and headed into a meeting. Shortly into the meeting it was about to be my turn to present, so naturally I went to take a big gulp of my coffee in an attempt to clear my throat (for maximum audibility). To my surprise I was halted mid-gulp with the strong urge to vomit. Why was my coffee cold, thick and sweet? Oh God! It was my turn to present and all I could do was resist my nausea and hope that no one noticed my red cheeks. It only took me a moment to realize that I had filled my cup with coffee creamer, sans coffee. Doh!

Like I said, flaws make life interesting. I saved this embarrassing story for a day when I noticed a coworker who needed a good laugh. Good can come from anything if you look at it from the right perspective. Never stop looking!

bottom of page